Current Meds

Id like to mention the medications I am currently on. My current treatments include:

8 mg shot of methotrexate once a week. ( I have been on methotrexate for over 2 years now. Its the only medication Ive been on consecutively)

I take two tablets of Hydroxychloroquine (Plaquenil) a day ( I have been on this drug for three months now. I have yet to notice a difference.  They say it can take up to six months for some medications to start working. That’s such an insane concept, I cant even wrap my mind around it)

3 tablets of Sulfasalazine (Azulfidine) a day ( I only recently started taking this again. I have tried two other times. Both times it was too hard on my stomach. I would be vomiting within an hour. So far so good.) 

20 mg of prednisone a day( I have been on this dose for over 7 months. Anyone who has ever been on this will understand the horrors. Ill refrain from explanations for the time being) 

I’m also given a low dose of hydrocodone. Its not nearly enough to do the job. Hell, it hardly takes the edge off, but I understand my doctors hesitation about upping the dose. Blah Blah Blah.

I have now been off of Enbrel for 3 months. Adverse side affects and all. I was only on it for 3 months, but I noticed the improvements. Now I notice the complete lack of improvements. I am currently working on receiving help paying for Humira. Hopefully it will do the trick.

At the moment, my knees are the worst joints affected. They have already become deformed. I don’t remember the medical term at the moment, but my knees no longer straighten.  So just imagine to yourself how silly I look when walking.

At the moment I can not stand for more than a minute.  I can not walk more than a hundred feet at a time. My hips usually begin to hurt after sitting in on spot for too long. They have already began to ache from just sitting here long enough to type. I also have bursitis in my hips. I usually need to rotate between sitting and laying down through out the day.

My elbows are also permanently bent. At the moment, the prednisone is working perfectly ok for all of the smaller joints though. My right shoulder is completely off due to the cane I walk with.

I’m going to record my progress here, so I need to get all this down. Its not about complaining. ( I also constantly feel the need to justify myself when I complain. I’m sure Ill write about that eventually)

Leave a Reply

