R.A. Hobos

I can honestly understand how a person can become homeless. I am lucky in my situation to have had people to help me in some way. Even if I don’t have anyone in my life who can afford to help me with medical bills, I have had people who let me stay with them. And in essence, attach myself to them like some sort of leech.

I have too much pride. Before I became sick, the idea of even letting someone buy me lunch was unfathomable. Oh the depths we sink.

I moved in with my sister into her one bedroom apartment an hour away from my previous home.

What if I did not have my sister? There are people out there without these supports. I’m shocked at how fast you can lose it all. Its a viscous cycle. You get too sick to work. You cant afford medical bills because you can not work. You can not work because you have become too sick.

Anyways, I just see things in a different light than I used to. I have more compassion than I used to. Looking back, I don’t even like the person I was. I have had a lot of time for self evaluation. That I never even realized I needed.

Do not get me wrong. I never was a bad kid. I did not do drugs, or steal, or drink, or anything immoral. But I could have done alot of things differently.

That has been one good thing to come out of all of this. I feel like I have grown in ways that never would have happened if it wasn’t for this illness.

Leave a Reply

