Rheumatoid Arthritis and Dieting

I may be getting ahead of myself ( I’m still at a 7.5 mg prednisone dose) but I started my diet again. It’s very simple and it always works. The first two weeks are really just about cleansing. I’m allowed water, carrots, apples, and black beans. I picked carrots and apples because they’re cheap and it’s about the only thing I can handle for that long. Especially the carrots. After awhile you don’t even taste them. Anyways, the black beans are great for protein. I wouldn’t want to make myself sick.

When I first got sick, and after I started my first found of steroids, I complained to my doctor about the weight I was putting on. She was very sympathetic. Said she understood, and to my surprise she wrote me a prescription for some heavy duty dieting pills. Then she told me to take advantage of them because she only gave me enough for two weeks. She said to just eat a little something in the morning. Maybe a pop tart or toast, and then the pills should curb my diet. That’s right. An actual medical doctor told me to eat a pop tart and then starve myself. I was working at a nursing school at the time. Oh man, was my boss pissed when I asked her about it. She told me on no uncertain terms, that it would be ridiculous to listen to the doctors advice. She told me not to even fill the script.

I wasn’t going to. Until I couldn’t even fit into the bigger size pants I had bought, and I was getting tired of the looks I was getting at the pub where I worked. Well I went for it. I only had enough for two weeks. And man, it worked. I lost all the weight plus some. I got alot of compliments. Made me feel good. Then I was at work at the school and started getting very dizzy all the time. And I actually blacked out. Very scary. It lasted all of 3 seconds, but it was obviously a really stupid thing to do to yourself.

I knew it was at the time.  I just felt like with my body rebelling against itself, the least I could do was keep it looking normal. Well this diet works alot better. Ive done it a few times in the past. Only once while on steroids though and that was the only time it hasn’t worked. It was a few months ago and I was still on a 20 mg a day prednisone dose, and after two weeks this diet I still managed to gain 10 pounds. Yea, that was a low point.

So I’m still on 7.5 mg, but I’ve got to try something. I’m miserable. So we’ll see if this helps any.  I’ll keep it posted.

Leave a Reply

