The new place

Okay, well we are finally settled in. Everything is lovely. It was definitely worth the trouble. But Lord was it frustrating.

First of all my computer crashed the night before we moved. Three computer guys, way too much money, and three weeks later it’s finally up and running. But I lost all my files. All my photographs. All my digital drawings. All of my music and videos and all my little notes and junk I’ve accumulated over the past 5 years. It’s very heartbreaking. I had about 8GB of photography I had never printed off. It was a big part of my life before I got sick. And its one of the things I’ve missed the most. Now its all gone. And I feel like I’ve lost a part of me. I’m sure that sounds completely silly. But there is so much that I’m not able to do anymore. And now I don’t even have a record of what I was once capable of. Bleh. I don’t want to think about it anymore. It makes me sick to my stomach.

Anyway, the actual move was quick. I had to pay three guys I didnt know to move me. I live in a small town, so theres nothing even close to professional movers. I spent weeks packing slowly and labeling every box to which room they needed to be placed in. When I got to the new apartment, I found out they had stacked boxes on top of each other in the livingroom almost up the ceiling. Some of the boxes I found on the bottom read: Very Fragile. Be Careful! or Precious Memories. Break and I’ll cry.

They clearly did not read them. On top of all of that, it rained. Yep. It had not rained in a month, but it rained on my things. And there was no covered trailers. It was not a fun day.

But now I’m here. All of my pictures are hung. Last night I finished organizing my walk in closet. I havn’t had a decent closet since I lived at home. In fact, since I was seventeen, I’ve always kept my shoes in an enormous orange decorative bucket. They are finally laid out. And I havnt been able to hang up all my clothes since then. Ive kept them in boxes and drawers. And now they’re finally hanging. Its actually pretty funny though because I havnt been able to wear anything but slip on shoes in a year, and I have an enormous amount of clothes and none of them fit. I counted twenty three pairs of pants( which sounds obscene except for the fact that they range from size six to eighteen. Thanks alot prednisone!), and I cant squeeze into any of them.

My bathtub is amazing. A friend of mine bought me 4 different bottles of bubble bath and I’ve been soaking that up. I also bought a little bath pillow, and I’ve soaked my knees alot. I didn’t realize how much a very hot bath could help.

The best part about the new place is the pool. And no one is ever in it between the hours of 11 am to 5pm.  Ive been swimming several times a week.  I recommend anyone with arthritis to exercise in a pool. I feel weightless. Which is saying something.

One Response

  1. I didn’t know what your post name was, but as soon as I saw raandme on the dream post I knew it was you. When I found this one it just confirmedf it.

    Didn’t know you had such a talent for the Word. Bravery is perseverance in the face of fear and defeat. Courage is going forward in the face of fear. And may I say, I am honored to be Ain’t Gena.

    love and loveliness,
    ME

Leave a Reply

