A Light in a Dark Place

I started my physical therapy again this week.

I found myself less than enthusiastic. I’m usually in a private room, but because of overbooking I was out in the bullpen with several patients. There was a little old man on the table next to mine. He looked over at me on two separate occasions and said ” Smile! You’re on candid camera” I was beginning to think he was senile, but indulged him with a large smile. But I found out he was far from it.

At one point I was on the exercise bike and he was next to me. The nurse had given him instructions on a new exercise. He was supposed to hold the pose for five seconds at a time. So he started counting very loudly and enthusiastically. 1!  2!  3!  4!  5!

He just kept grinning at me and would let loose a small laugh occassionally. Like he was laughing at the ridiculousness of the situation. I found it hard to keep a smile off my face and whenever I looked over we would have a giggle together. The only time he stopped counting so enthusiastically was when he stopped to tell me that I was far too pretty of a girl to not be smiling. And later on he told me I had a lovely smile and I bet all the boys loved it.

The doctor was so busy with other patients that they forgot to tell him how many reps to do. After what seemed like a million, I said, “I think you’ve done forty or fifty of those!” He then laughed out loud as the nurse ran over and told him to rest and that he had only needed to do twenty.

They took me back to my private room but left the door open. They strapped me down to the table and he did some new stretches that were so excruciated, I actually left a puddle of tears on the table.

But every once in a while I heard Mr. Jasp on the bike counting for no apparent reason loudly and firmly to a hundred. Then he would start over.  I couldn’t help but laugh out loud in between the stretches. And I would hear him chuckle in response.

He made me happy today. And smile more than I ever had in there. We left at the same time and he walked past my car and gave me a wave and a big smile. He lifted me right out of that dark and mopey place I had been in when I entered the building that morning.

What a wonderful person. I hope he’s there from now on……

7 Responses

  1. My sister has extreme R.A. Her bad days break my heart. She has developed another serious health problem and has been taken off of all of her treatments and medications indefinitely as her doctors feel they will interfere with this new problem. She also has Fibromyalgia and can’t take anything for that either. She can only have 1 Tylenol per day. Nothing more! I suggested Vemma, a natural, plant based liquid nutritional supplement. I know taking Vemma for her RA and fibromyalgia would help her because of the high antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties. The doctors won’t let her try even a nutritional supplement as it is plant based and she is not allowed whole fruits and vegetables in her diet either! It’s very discouraging! Any suggestions? Blessings, Celene

    • Celene,
      Im so sorry to hear about your sister’s health. I cant imagine being off of all my meds. One tylenol a day must seem like a joke to her. I’ve never had any luck at all being off any of my meds, but i regularly read a blog of a woman who has voluntarily given up her and seems to do just fine. Please read her blog. And Im sure she would be willing to talk to you. She seems to be a pretty wonderful person. http://thelifeandadventuresofcatepoo.blogspot.com/

  2. What a wonderful surprise. I was pretty lucky that all three of my PT’s were very chatty and funny, too. It made a less then fun experience so much easier to deal with.

    I hope he is there the next time, too!!

  3. Yay! Every happy moment counts.

    Hey, I have a poll going on at my blog about your blood type. If you and any others with RA wouldn’t mind stopping by and voting, I would appreciate it.
    http://www.thelifeandadventuresofcatepoo.blogspot.com/

  4. Don’t give up. This isn’t you all alone. Most of the people who read your blog have RA and we understand. You have come further along than you thought you could and you need to look at the glass being half full and not half empty.

    My son is nine and he has been having joint pain recently, sometimes the pain is all over his body and with fevers. I am so worried that it could be JRA and as much as my body hurts, I never want him to feel the pain that I feel everyday. I am taking him tomorrow for some blood work and this time (this isn’t the first time i have taken him in), I won’t take a diagnosis of “growing pains” from any doctor. I am going to get to the bottom of it.

    Mr. Jasp is one of those people (yes, probably senile) who comes in your life for a reason. He is probably stronger than most of us, especially at an emotional level. If he can do it, so can you.

    You are in prayers. Take care of yourself.

    Lana

    • Lana,
      It breaks my heart to hear about your son. I would never wish R.A. on anyone, let alone a child. I feel for you. You guys will be in my thoughts. Thank you for your encouragment. Sometimes I need to put things in perspective. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

