Knee surgery

I saw my rheumatologist today. After countless physical therapy sessions, I finally get to make an appointment with a orthopedic surgeon to see if I’m a candidate for knee replacement.

My doctor was very reluctant to mention this option. I had to down right refuse anymore physical therapy. I told her there was no way I’m going to keep doing something that is so painful if it isn’t doing any good.

She finally relented and found me a really good surgeon. I called and they had any opening Thursday afternoon for a consult.

Im surprisingly optimistic. My physical therapist told me that my legs are in such a bad state now that if I was older he would have just told me to give up and to resign myself to a wheelchair.  He said that there is alot they can do about stretching and manipulating the tendons while they are in there.

This is my last option really. It has to happen. I cant wait for Thursday.

My rheumatologist told me that if I do have it that I will have to be medication free for at least a month! Ahh! Sounds terrifying. But I’m willing to do ANYthing right now.

So wish me luck! Thursady cant come soon enough for me.

Oh, and Im going to be switching from Enbrel to Humira. All my blood work keeps coming back with high sed rates, inflammation, etc.

3 Responses

  1. I was med free for 2 weeks before my elbow surgery and one week after. The first two were ok…that last week, not so much. I did start about half a week early with my docs ok.

    Good news on the replacement. Isn’t it odd to be in a situation where good news consists of getting our joints replaced?

    Good luck on Thursday.

  2. Sending good thoughts that your appointment is productive. Cathy

  3. I have vowed NOT to have a knee replacement. What God made seems to be the best choice!

    Track my progress on the recovery from my own knee surgery here:

    http://www.planetsantabarbara.com/BlogEngine/post/2009/03/06/Knee-Recovery-Moving-Right-Along-Nutrisystem-Progress-Report.aspx

Leave a Reply

