Rheumatoid Arthritis and Religion II

 

Ok, I’ve broached this topic a few times in the past.

Religion and Rheumatoid Arthritis

So there are these people in my life who every time they see me, cant help but offer me platitudes on the struggles of the soul in regards to illness. They offer truly thought provoking philosophical insights into the questions such as ” Why does God lets bad things happen?”.

Um- Ok, so I exaggerated. What usually comes out of their self righteous uneducated mouths is something along the lines of…

“Hey, ya know if you’d jus’ trust God a bit more, he’d sure heal you up just lickety split.”

“I’m real sorry to hear ‘bout you gettin’ turned down for surgery. But if you’d jus give for to God, he could heal you”

“Pssh, what do them doctors know anyhow? All a bunch of thieving’ crooks if you ask me.”

Me: “Yea. But wouldn’t they make more money if they actually did the surgery?”

“Yea, well they’re just so darn lazy, ya know?”

I get emails from my best friends mom. I know she does it because she loves me and it’s the only hope she can offer, but it’s just frustrating to me. It always comes back to the fact that I’m only sick because I’m not doing something right. I don’t trust enough. Or I am just not a good enough person. I am an example for everyone else on how not to be.

It’s funny, because off all the many religious people I know, I haven’t done the following:

( I’ll even just stick with the preachers, chaplains, youth leaders, and preacher’s wives I know.)

I haven’t done drugs.

I haven’t slept around on a husband or wife.

I haven’t blown 400 dollars a pop on coach purses from the tithes of the congregation

I haven’t treated my entire family to a trip to Hawaii on the tithes from the congregation.

I haven’t paid for a new car from donations.

I haven’t spent time in jail for theft.

I haven’t stolen money.

I haven’t had a baby out of wedlock.

I don’t drink and act like an idiot.

I haven’t turned my back on someone because they didn’t believe exactly like me.

I can manage to accept people for who they are and not how I think they should be.

I don’t tell a sick young woman that they must be sick because they are a bad person.

And they have the nerve to talk about me. They have the nerve to tell other people that I could have gotten that surgery if I had even bothered to attend services.

I am the only one out of my many religious acquaintances who has actually lived a moral life. Yet, I am the bad person.

I know there are many many religious many who are wonderful and do good things. I just don’t know very many.

9 Responses

  1. “I am the only one out of my many religious acquaintances who has actually lived a moral life.”

    Ah, but when was the last time you sacrificed a goat?

    Hope you do okay.

  2. Doesn’t RA sometimes make you feel like a bad person? All the “give it up to God” and “if you control your stress you can cure yourself” stuff really gets my goat.

    What I believe (and your mileage may vary) is that God is supposed to be a comforting place, not one of the “your bad, a curse on you and Toto, too.” When I am my most broken physically or mentally my place to go is God.

    What I’m learning is that I am not my disease. It’s been a really hard lesson. I am a person with RA, my life no longer revolves around my illness and I find that so much easier to live with.

    And anyone who says they won’t do surgery because you don’t go to church…has the pastor confused with a surgeon.

  3. Yup there are a lot of jerks out there. RA didn’t hit you or me because we did bad things. it just did. RA isn’t bias in any way.

  4. Yes, autoimmune diseases are interesting there are aprox 80 to 100 with another 40 waiting for a name. And medical science cannot explain why and has not found a cure for even one. You can trigger one of them just by having an auto accident or taking aspirin or by starting a new exercise routine says latest research. Naturopathic medicine says, “Look for the root, it is in the basics beginning with what is on your fork, what toxins are in your body, what exercise do you do, what stress is in your life (includes negative religious sucks), what is your spiritual base(spiritual is the word not religious)”. Our arrogance has led us down the wrong path we better stop and take a close look at what is happening. Autoimmune disease is the worst kind of contradiction; for an RA you are stabbing yourself in your own joints, a world upside down. God bless you in your search.

  5. There are very good reasons for our suffering of this disease that cannot be easily explained without sounding like a crackpot.
    I’m not going to go into to what I believe are the reasons here, but to say that life is a journey.
    Would you have had empathy for someone that had RA before you your self were stricken down with this disease.

    The short answer to that is NO.
    How could any one know what it is like without experiencing first hand the pain and suffering.

    We are learning something by having this disease, life is a school room full of mystery.
    Are we prepared to learn or bemoan the fact that we have to go to school.

    There you go, I’m sounding like a crackpot.

    I do have one small article on my blog about RA that may be of help to those that have difficulty with trying to get others to understand what we go through.

    Stephen.

    • I understand where you are coming from. Im not saying that nothing good has come out of this experience. You cant always control what hapens to you, but you can control how you react to it. I get that. But I still cant say that there was a “reason” I got sick. Can I have a link to your blog?

  6. Sorry, but you are wrong. I remember the first time I saw someone suffering with RA. I remember it as clear as day. It was in Los Angeles 35 years ago. I was taking a report from a lady who had it real bad in both knees. I saw her suffering and it went right to my heart. It was one of the strongest feeling of empathy I had experienced up till that time. It hit me physically and emotionally so hard I was taken aback as though I had been struck. Even thinking of it now I have the same feelings. I am looking for the person who wants to be proactive because you either sit and feeling sorry doing the same things that got you sick in the first place or you take action. I am not talking about going to a doctor and taking medication I am talking about making changes in what you are doing. There is something you are doing or something inside you that brought this on and it has to be undone. Every disease can be cured it is not about the disease it is about the person. 3 kinds of people who cannot be cured are 1 does nothing, 2 likes to be sick, 3 it is their time God is coming. Everyone else can be cured even cracked pots, they just need the information on how.

    Thanks
    Paul

  7. “But I still cant say that there was a “reason” I got sick. Can I have a link to your blog?”

    I have only just started up a blog and I do not have much on it.

    http://stephenissell.wordpress.com/

  8. Hay I just stumbled across your true feeling on the home page, interesting. Everything I was saying is meant to wake you up, give you hope that there is another step that has to be taken. Yes, I have a website and I give information and sell herbs. My partner (he is a retired fireman) and I have been at this for almost 2 years and neither of us has put a penny in our pockets. I have 20 years experience as a practicing naturopath. I have seen it all and all types of disease and suffering people including me. At my worst I had a gun to my head ready to end it. At that point I had a very clear thought and I got on my knees which I had not done since I was a boy and told God I can not go on you must help me. From that point on things changed in a positive way. Not quickly but positively. At that time I had been doing some cleansing techniques and studying herbalism. I got more motivated because I felt in my heart that there was something very true about what I was doing. The more I did those things the better I felt but not always; sometimes I was so sick I could not stand because of all the crud that was coming out of my body. But I followed the instructions which said the worse it gets the more clean your body is getting. Then that day came when I realized my symptoms were gone, I was dumbstruck because there was a little place in me that did not believe it would work. It was another year before I felt it was finally over. I have been pushing ever since to get as many people as possible to believe it is possible. That is why my partner Ken joined me because he believes the same thing. I am a long way from being perfect but if hurting feeling and getting people mad will make them think then that is what I will do. People in the United States are asleep they have not got a clue as to what is going on. Here is a challenge, on a piece of paper write down as many diseases as you can think of then put them as a search on Google one at a time and add the word epidemic you will see that almost all are. If one of them was an epidemic 50 years ago the whole country would be mobilized to fight it That is where we have been taken by people who care more about the money they can make off you not cure you, anyway. We should be talking about our cleansing experiences and what raw recipe we tried today and what is the best juicer on the market.

    Sincerely
    Paul

Leave a Reply

