Yes

I had an appointment for a second opinion with another orthopedic surgeon today. And he said yes!

I was completely prepared to fight for these new knees, but I didn’t even need my arguments. He was in complete agreement.

It shouldn’t be long now. I have to be cleared by my rheumatologist, my dentist, and a cardiologist. Everyone thinks it’s odd that a dentist has to ok knee replacement surgery, but he just has to make sure I don’t have any infections, or abscesses. I was able to schedule an appointment for tomorrow. The soonest I can get in for the cardiologist is next Wednesday.

My doctor only does surgeries on Mondays, so there’s a chance that if I can get my paperwork done quickly enough, it may happen the 6th.

I’m very excited. I’ve been in a lot of pain because I’ve been off my meds for a few weeks. But its nice to know that in a few weeks, I’ll finally be getting some relief!

Without my knee pain, I think I’ll find R.A. a much more tolerable disease. No picnic of course, but no longer hell on earth.

ANYways, Ive been doing my research on total knee replacements. Makes me a bit queasy thinking about it actually. I never am very good with the whole blood and gore and bones and needles thing. I’m actually fairly nervous, but I know it will be a good step.

I am going to have my left leg done first. And if there are no complications, then my right knee three weeks later. He said that doing them both at the same time increases the risk of infection by thirty percent. And that with my medications, R.A., etc an infection would be very very bad.

They explained all of the risks involved. It seems a bit daunting, but really, I think I would be willing to do just about anything for these new knees.

3 Responses

  1. This is wonderful news. I’m so glad that you are going to get some relief soon. 🙂

  2. I’m so happy for you! A few pieces of advice I learned when I had my hip replacement: 1) Give your own blood to be transfused after the surgery. I didn’t and they were very resistent to give me someone else’s as a transplant because I was young and could be more resilient, but I had a few days with a really low blood count and that made getting back on my feet really hard 2) Take the pain meds (if you need to) to do your rehab. Rehab is the most important part of this process 3) Let yourself grieve. I felt so much better after my surgeries, but I had this heavy emotional reaction. I thought I should just automatically feel better, but it was a process and I definitely had a sense of loss afterwards. I’m sure not everyone has the same reactions, but I was 25 when I had my hip replacements and everyone else in rehab was over 60 and it was a really strange experience. But well worth it! No doubt. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

