The beginning

Well there is less than twelve hours left until my surgery. I think I have everything taken care of. My bed is still too low, but other than that, my apartment is completely ready for me.

I haven’t had to do much to prepare.

The surgeon prescribed me two different medications for today and I’ve had to take Tylenol every six hours. No big deal. I’m all packed and ready.

I’m still not particularly nervous. There are a few parts of the hospital stay that I’m not looking forward to. Cough cough catheter cough. But really there is no doubt in my mind that this will be an improvement.

I’m mostly just scared of the I.V. My irrational fear of needles is rearing it’s ugly head. It’s so bad that I almost don’t want the surgery. Lol. Isn’t that the most ridiculous thing ever?! They can hack into my knee all they want but a needle? No! It’s near torture. Meh. I sure I will get over it though.

I’m sure even knee surgery cant possibly be much worse than what I’ve been feeling the past couple weeks. Yesterday morning I woke up with the usual unbelievable pain in my wrist, fingers, elbows, jaw, knees, and hips. Shifting just a few inches had me crying out. I finally sat up so I could go to the bathroom. It’s took me several minutes to make it to a standing position while putting no weight on my left knee. I went to take my first step and my wrists and elbows were too bad to use my cane. And I couldn’t walk without my cane because of my knees and hips. My wheelchair wont fit in my bedroom because of the furniture. So I just sat down in a sort of stunned disbelief. I thought I had to pee so bad I would burst, but there was literally nothing I could do. So I sat back down took another vicodin and waited an hour in misery.

Situations like that just reinforce the fact that Im making the right decision with surgery. And I think that’s why Im not nervous.

Eleven more hours!

8 Responses

  1. I will be thinking about your tomorrow. Keep us posted on how you are doing.

    Is there a possibility of stacking on another mattress to bring the height of your bed up?

    Well, good luck…..all that goes with your hospital stay will be okay (if you know what I mean)

  2. Good luck! Will be thinking of you tomorrow!

  3. Sending healing wishes for you.

  4. It’s so not ridiculous…I felt the same way with my surgery. Needle phobia is not fun to deal with, huh?

    I’m hoping by this time tomorrow you are comfortably healing in your hospital bed. And that pretty soon you will be back on your RA meds and feeling better.

  5. Best wishes for your surgery! We look forward to hearing from you soon.

  6. I wish you lots of luck! I’m not sure what kind of bed you have, but when I was in college we put our beds on cinder blocks to make them higher. That might do the trick!

  7. I am so happy to read that you are finally getting some pain relief with your surgery. I will keep you in my prayers.

    I have been following your blog because my mother has just been diagnosed with RA. I created a RA blog for my college class with my mother in mind. It has been rather hard since she doesn’t share much with my sisters and I but the obvious pain that she is going through. She hasn’t done anything since her diagnosis and my hope is that she has not given up.

    It gives me hope to see how strong you are and how you are handling your situation. Again good luck with the surgery and I will keep you in my prayers.

  8. Thank you to everyone who left me a message! It felt so good to read your well wishes while in the hospital. It really meant alot to me.

Leave a Reply

