Im moving on

Hey everyone.

It’s been four months since my last post and just about that long since I’ve had time to read anyone elses.

I started this blog in March 2008. Which was probably the lowest point in my life.

I’m now five years into this disease and I feel like I have experienced more ups and downs than some people experience in a lifetime. This blog was the single greatest source of comfort for me in a time that I had nothing else. Connecting with everyone else in the R.A. community has been a truly life changing experience. And, more than anything else, I give it credit for saving my sanity and pulling me out of a deep hole of despair.

But I feel like it’s time to move on. It’s been one year since my first knee replacement, 11 months since my second, and three weeks since my hip replacement, and I am pleased to announce that I feel half way human again. I’m still fighting the war, but these key battles have changed my life completely. I started back at school in the fall, and have completed two full time semesters with a 4.0 average. I’ve won awards for my art work, and I am all set to transfer to the University this fall. I’ve moved into a new apartment, and finally feel like I have my life back on track.

I still struggle daily with my R.A. but I have improved drastically. It has been a long hard road to recovery after three and a half years without insurance. I still feel angry about how our system failed me, but I’m feeling less and less like a victim with each new step.

I’m going to take a break, and someday I may be back. But for now, I dont need this blog. I’m making it out there on my own and it feels great.

If anyone with R.A. ever stumbles on this blog, I want them to know that everything will be ok. I promise.

And I am still always available if anyone needs me or just needs someone to listen. raandme at gmail.com

4 Responses

  1. well,.. hi,.. are u a woman?? u’r such a strong person,.. be strong always,.. God is good,.

  2. I have watched your blog for some time now and seeing this post today makes my heart jump with happiness. Yay for you! I don’t know you personally, but I am so proud of you. Good luck and live life!

  3. Good to hear that things are going you way. You are really strong and you have worked really hard towards today. Good luck to you in everything you do.

  4. Wow! I am so happy for you! I wish you the best, and I am happy to read and see that there is HOPE!!! I do hope someday I am where you are now in your life! Thank you for documenting your trials and tribulations! Peace!

Leave a comment