It’s a go

Ok, everything is set and my surgery date will be April 27th.

They will be doing my left knee first. My right knee is actually a bit worse, but doesn’t hurt as much as my left knee. My rheummy said it was because the right one is more chronic whereas the left one is still active.

The  twenty seventh feels like a really long time from now. But they only do the surgeries on Mondays and he wont be available on the twentieth. Everybody keeps asking me if I’m nervous. Honestly I’m not. At least yet. I’m sure it will come later but right now, I’mjust ready to get it over with.

Lack of medication is really really getting to me. My hips are aching almost constantly now. Laying, sitting, standing. It’s all bad right now. Joints that haven’t hurt since I started Enbrel are becoming problematic again. My elbows and fingers and wrist. Even my jaw aches in the morning.

It’s amazing. I had almost forgotten how bad this used to be. We become accustomed to one level of pain so easily. I know one thing, after my surgeries, I never ever want to be without my medication again. It really is a miracle.

Anyways, I just wanted to write a short update. I’mgoing to try and be pretty thorough with my posts from now on. So I can have the whole thing documented.

3 Responses

  1. You’ll be right.

  2. How exciting, it’s right around the corner. I don’t think I was really nervous before my elbow surgery more just asking myself if I was making the right decision..which in your case you totally know this is right…sometimes just knowing someone is going to fix the hurt makes the nervousness fly right out of the window.

    I had to be without meds for 2 weeks before the surgery and one week after. About 4 days after my surgery I woke up and couldn’t move…yeah, I started back on the Enbrel a few days early.

    I’m not sure if this is an option but when my friend has surgery her surgeon gives her a 100mg steroid injection after the surgery to get her through the week after. It might be something you want to talk to your doctor about.

    I can’t wait to read your updates. I can just imagine after your back on your meds and healed from the surgeries all the new things your going to tell us you can now do!!

    You’ll be in my thoughts for easy surgeries and quick healing.

  3. A steroid injection would feel pretty good right now and probably after, but all of my docs are very very concerned about infections, and are trying to cut down any risks. Unfortunately the injections do carry a risk of infection. Thank you so much for the suggestion though 🙂
    It’s always nice to get any sort of feedback from other people who have been through anything remorely similar! Lol.

Leave a comment